BBS > Recording > Vice-county map of Britain and Ireland    

Vice-county map of Britain and Ireland

The map below shows the boundaries of the Watsonian Vice-counties for the British Isles. They approximate to administrative counties in most cases, and are the standard geographical area for county based botanical recording.

Click on the county below that you are interested in. This will take you to a page giving you more information about bryology within that county. For a list of vice-counties and their numbers, go to the vice-counties visited page. There is an account of the Irish vice-counties on the Irish National Botanic Gardens here.


West Cornwall with Scilly East Cornwall South Devon North Devon South Somerset North Somerset North Wiltshire South Wiltshire Dorset Isle-of-Wight South Hampshire North Hampshire West Sussex East Sussex East Kent West Kent Surrey South Essex North Essex Hertfordshire Middlesex Berkshire Oxfordshire Buckinghamshire East Suffolk West Suffolk East Norfolk West Norfolk Cambridgeshire Bedfordshire Huntingdonshire Northamptonshire East Gloucstershire West Gloucestershire Monmouthshire Herefordshire Worcestershire Warwickshire Staffordshire Shropshire Glamorgan Breconshire Radnorshire Carmarthenshire Pembrokeshire Cardiganshire Montgomeryshire Merioneth Caernarvonshire Denbighshire Flintshire Anglesey South Lincolnshire North Lincolnshire Leicestershire with Rutland Nottinghamshire Derbyshire Cheshire South Lancashire West Lancashire South-east Yorkshire North-east Yorkshire South-West Yorkshire Mid-west Yorkshire North-West Yorkshire Durham South Northumberland North Northumberland Westmorland with Furness Cumberland Isle-of-Man Roxburghshire Dumfriesshire Kirkcudbrightshire Wigtownshire Ayrshire Renfrewshire Lanarkshire Peebleshire Selkirkshire Berwickshire East Lothian Midlothian West Lothian Fife Stirlingshire West Perthshire Mid Perthshire East Perthshire Angus Kincardineshire Soth Aberdeenshire North Aberdeenshire Banffshire Moray Easterness Westerness Main Argyll Dunbartonshire Clyde Isles Kintyre South Ebudes Mid Ebudes North Ebudes West Ross East Ross East Sutherland West Sutherland Caithness Outer Hebrides Orkney Shetland South Kerry North Kerry West Cork Mid Cork East Cork Waterford South Tipperary Limerick Clare North Tipperary Kilkenny Wexford Carlow Laois South-east Galway West Galway North-east Galway Offaly Kildare Wicklow Dublin Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon East Mayo West Mayo Sligo Leitrim Cavan Louth Monaghan Fermanagh East Donegal West Donegal Tyrone Armagh Down Antrim Londonderry Channel Islands

1 West Cornwall with Scilly 52 Anglesey 103 Mid Ebudes
2 East Cornwall 53 South Lincolnshire 104 North Ebudes
3 South Devon 54 North Lincolnshire 105 West Ross
4 North Devon 55 Leicestershire with Rutland 106 East Ross
5 South Somerset 56 Nottinghamshire 107 East Sutherland
6 North Somerset 57 Derbyshire 108 West Sutherland
7 North Wiltshire 58 Cheshire 109 Caithness
8 South Wiltshire 59 South Lancashire 110 Outer Hebrides
9 Dorset 60 West Lancashire 111 Orkney
10 Isle of Wight 61 South-east Yorkshire 112 Shetland
11 South Hampshire 62 North-east Yorkshire H1 South Kerry
12 North Hampshire 63 South-west Yorkshire H2 North Kerry
13 West Sussex 64 Mid-west Yorkshire H3 West Cork
14 East Sussex 65 North-west Yorkshire H4 Mid-Cork
15 East Kent 66 Durham H5 East Cork
16 West Kent 67 South Northumberland H6 Waterford
17 Surrey 68 North Northumberland H7 South Tipperary
18 South Essex 69 Westmoreland with Furness H8 Limerick
19 North Essex 70 Cumberland H9 Clare
20 Hertfordshire 71 Isle of Man H10 North Tipperary
21 Middlesex 72 Dumfriesshire H11 Kilkenny
22 Berkshire 73 Kircudbrightshire H12 Wexford
23 Oxfordshire 74 Wigtownshire H13 Carlow
24 Buckinghamshire 75 Ayrshire H14 Laois
25 East Suffolk 76 Renfrewshire H15 South-east Galway
26 West Suffolk 77 Lanarkshire H16 West Galway
27 East Norfolk 78 Peebleshire H17 North-east Galway
28 West Norfolk 79 Selkirkshire H18 Offaly
29 Cambridgeshire 80 Roxburghshire H19 Kildare
30 Bedfordshire 81 Berwickshire H20 Wicklow
31 Huntingdonshire 82 East Lothian H21 Dublin
32 Northamptonshire 83 Midlothian H22 Meath
33 East Gloucestershire 84 West Lothian H23 Westmeath
34 West Gloucestershire 85 Fife H24 Longford
35 Monmouthshire 86 Stirlingshire H25 Roscommon
36 Herefordshire 87 West Perthshire H26 East Mayo
37 Worcestershire 88 Mid Perthshire H27 West Mayo
38 Warwickshire 89 East Perthshire H28 Sligo
39 Staffordshire 90 Angus H29 Leitrim
40 Shropshire 91 Kincardineshire H30 Cavan
41 Glamorgan 92 South Aberdeenshire H31 Louth
42 Breconshire 93 North Aberdeenshire H32 Monaghan
43 Radnorshire 94 Banffshire H33 Fermanagh
44 Carmarthenshire 95 Moray H34 East Donegal
45 Pembrokeshire 96 Easterness H35 West Donegal
46 Cardiganshire 97 Westerness H36 Tyrone
47 Montgomeryshire 98 Main Argyll H37 Armagh
48 Merioneth 99 Dunbartonshire H38 Down
49 Caernarvonshire 100 Clyde Isles H39 Antrim
50 Denbighshire 101 Kintyre H40 Londonderry
51 Flintshire 102 South Ebudes C Channel Islands


Copyright © British Bryological Society .